Snow Shoeing

Collingwood Golf Course

I’ll take my camera just about anywhere. Snowshoeing is a good example. I like to hike, so this is a natural extension when the snow is too deep to wade through, which it can be in Collingwood. It is a great place to snowshoe as there are a lot of trails and some of the golf courses allow cross-country skiing and snowshoeing – they even have marked trails, which is good as it is easy to loose your bearing in all the trees and white.

This shot was on a golf course. It had started to snow, but wasn’t too cold that I couldn’t take my gloves off and take a few pictures. The lighting was good; nice and diffused, but the snow was “bright” and I had to make some exposure adjustments. I’ve processed this photograph in black and white as well, but prefer the muted colours against the white and bare trees. It prints well.

I think I will do a series of “winterish” photographs for a while, in keeping with the season – it is very, very cold and snowy today in Toronto.

4 responses to “Snow Shoeing

  1. Pingback: snow | Poetic Mapping: Walking into Art

  2. Pingback: A stroll in the snow with the “ciaspole” | Round Trip Ticket

  3. I love hiking and there are times of the year where I get really addicted to it, but have never tried snow-shoeing… and this despite living in Switzerland!

  4. Yeah, it was a long time before I put on a pair of snow shoes and we get snow, well, every year! I wished I had tried it sooner.

Leave a Reply

